Information for Home Schooling
Under Pennsylvania’s home schooling law, any parent who has earned a high school diploma or G.E.D. and who has not been convicted of a heinous crime within the past five years may teach their own children.
If you intend to provide a program of home schooling for your child, you must comply with the following:
Register your Child as a Home Schooled Student
1. Submit a notarized affidavit of the parent or guardian or other person having legal custody of the child or children, filed prior to the commencement of the home education program and annually thereafter on August 1 to Dr. Frances K. Garner, Director of Student Services, that includes:
A Sample Affidavit can be found on the Pennsylvania Department of Education Website.
2. Provide an outline of proposed education objectives by subject area for each child.
3. Provide evidence that the child has been immunized in accordance with the Pennsylvania Department of Health. You may access this schedule by clicking on the following:
You must also provide documentation your child has received the health and medical services required for students of the child's age or grade level:
Medical Examination Grades Required
Physical K or 1 6 11
Dental K or 1 3 7
Keep A Portfolio
Once you have filed you affidavit, you must maintain a portfolio for each child which shows the child is receiving an appropriate education. Your portfolio should include:
- Daily log which identifies the specific dates of instruction and the materials used on each date documenting the proper amount of time
- Elementary level (grades 1-6) 180 days or 900 hours per year
- Secondary Level ( grades 7-12) 180 days or 990 hours per year
- Work Examples
- Samples of writing, worksheets, creative materials organized by subject area
- Evaluation results of student's progress by a certified teacher or psychologist
- Test Results as required ( grades 3,5,8)
The supervisor of a home education student who has been identified as needing special education services pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), must have a certified special education teacher or licensed clinical or certified school psychologist’s approval of the home education program. This requirement does not apply to students who have been identified as gifted or talented.
Your home education evaluator will review the portfolios and the standardized tests if required. This evaluation is due by June 30th following each school year.
PA Homeschoolers www.pahomeschoolers.com