



The Rose Tree Media Board of School Directors held its monthly Legislative Meeting on March 24, 2022

Next Work Session:
April 7, 2022
Next Legislative Meeting:
April 28, 2022

Board of Education Members

Susan Henderson-Utis

President

Theresa Napson-Williams *Vice President*

Ken Dinitz
Hillary Fletcher
Jackie Gusic
Shelley Hunt
Robert Kelly
Susan Layne
Kelly Schaffer

Student Board Representatives

Ava Finnegan Mckenzie Grant Neil Sen

SuperintendentDr. Eleanor DiMarino-Linnen

More information available at www.rtmsd.org/administration/board

Board of School Directors UPDATE

March 2022

Highlights

District Examines Inclusivity and Belonging

The Rose Tree Media School District continues to examine systems, processes, and instructional practices throughout its schools to ensure that it is meeting the needs of all students.

In October 2021, the RTM Board of School Directors voted to partner with the <u>Delaware County Intermediate Unit</u> (DCIU) to conduct an Inclusivity & Belonging Program Review. The DCIU presented its <u>final report</u> to the Board at the March 10th Work Session.

The Inclusivity and Belonging Program Review examines the RTMSD's current practices and how the District can improve in the critical areas of educational equity, belongingness, and inclusion. It also offers a path for RTMSD to continue its mission of ensuring an equitable educational experience for each and every student it serves.

During its March 10th meeting, the Board also heard an update about ongoing work on this topic from Ralph Harrison, the District's Administrator for Safe and Inclusive Schools. Mr. Harrison's update included the presentation of data from the <u>Youth Truth Survey</u> that was administered in November 2021.

On March 22, the District hosted its first Dignity and Belongingness Community workshop, well attended by parents and facilitated by our teachers. "This opportunity for dialogue and discussion is critical to supporting connection, common understanding, and collaboration and I thank our families and our faculty who gave their time to join us," said Superintendent Eleanor DiMarino-Linnen.



More information about the District's <u>Inclusivity and Belonging</u> work is available on the RTMSD website.



Ms. Grace-Green, Dr. D, Ms. Costa

Board Honors Two Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

The RTM Board of School Directors honored two recipients of a 2022 Excellence in Teaching Award at its Legislative Meeting on March 24th. Marie Costa, an educator at Media Elementary School, and Crystal Grace-Green, an educator at Glenwood Elementary School, were congratulated for receiving this award from the Franklin Mint Federal Credit Union Foundation.

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes 20 outstanding and dedicated teachers in our region. Recipients each receive \$1,000 towards classroom expenses and each recipient's school also receives a \$1,000 award. Included in the hundreds of nominations were educators from schools serving students in Delaware County, Chester County, New Castle County (Delaware), and Philadelphia.

Calendar Approved for 2022-23 School Year

At its March Legislative Meeting, the RTM Board of School Directors approved the school calendar for 2022-23. The first day of school for grades K-6 and grade 9 will be Tuesday, September 6, 2022. Wednesday, September 7 will be the first day of school for the remaining grades.

The approved <u>2022-23 calendar</u> is available on the RTM website.

News & Notes from Board Liaison Reports

- Congratulations to Springton Lake 7th grader April Kim for her second-place finish in this year's countywide Spelling Bee, sponsored by the Delaware County Intermediate Unit.
- As highlighted in a <u>recent news article</u>, a Georgetown University Center on Education & the Workforce <u>report</u> ranked the Delaware County Technical School's Practical Nursing Program in the top 10 nationally for the return on investment one decade post-graduation.
- Dr. L. Joyce Gates Black, president of Delaware County Community College, has <u>announced</u> she will retire in June 2023.



April Kim



Penncrest Boys & Girls Track Teams

Points of Pride

 Congratulations to Penncrest student-athletes for winning medals in five different events at the 2022 PTFCA Indoor State Championship at Penn State University in State College, PA in February! Girls Track Team team members are: Keeley Aiken, Zoe Clark, Hannah Puckett, Kelsie Robinson, and Julia Scholtz. Boys team members include: Nicholas Fante, Benjamin Holst-Rightley, Declan Hefferan, Rory McAfee, Daniel Munro, Kadin Salaria, and Jackson Sigda.

- The Board accepted the retirement of several long-time RTMSD employees:
 - Lisa Hooven, Kindergarten Teacher, Media Elementary, 38 years of dedicated service.
 - Stephan Mescanti, Technology Education Teacher, Penncrest High School, 34 years of dedicated service.
 - George Ament, Speech/Language Pathologist, Glenwood and Media Elementary Schools, 19 years of dedicated service.
 - Glen Long, Courier, Maintenance Department, 15 years of dedicated service.